Galanado is a small picturesque village of just 425 inhabitants, build amphitheatrically overlooking the fertile plane of Livadi, Stelida and Chora. Its characteristics are the Church of Aghio Pneuma (1780), and its venetian Mpelonia Tower on the south side of the village with its twin chapel of Aghios Ioannis in its courtyard, which belongs to both Catholics and Orthodox Christians, together with other monuments and monasteries, indications of the history of this area.
The village of Glinado (approx. 509 permanent residents) spreads out at an altitude of about 80-113 meters. With its panoramic view towards all directions and facing west (towards eastern Paros) it has been referred to as ‘the balcony of Naxos’. It is a transportation crossroad since it links the main town with two other valley villages ( Agersani and Tripodes) but also with the rest of the south-western region of Naxos. Take a quiet walk along the road passing through the village, and enjoy the sunset from the mill of Karegla or the chapel of Tzannakou. Go past the abandoned settlements of Louloudou ad Tzitzamaou heading towards the parish church of Christ (north aisle built- 1680, south – 1740), take a tour around the premises of the Dairy Factory belonging to the General Co-operative Union of Naxos and visit the archaeological site of Iries and the abandoned monastery of Aghioi Saranta.